Saturday, December 28, 2013
Back from Hiatus.
Update: Working out has not happened as it should. No excuses. My own fault. Lets move on and not dwell on what I can't change.
What can I change?
This new year.
I have struck a deal (not really more forced than anything else) My mom and I are starting Jillian Michael's 30 day shred on Thursday. Hello new year. Every day. Circuit training, cardio/strength/abs. And I am going running before work for at least 30 minutes Monday through Friday... if after work at least an hour.
Well that's great Kim, but heard this before right?
Probably, but here's the deal. Every day I don't do stick to my plan, I'm donating 5$ to charity. That's if I don't run any day Monday through Friday, before work or after, $5.00 dollars a day, don't stick with my mom to what day's we're doing our other workout? $5.00.
And if I stick to it, I'll probably donate money anyways. I haven't thought that part totally through.
In other news, went shopping at the Mall of America with Tasha today, got two new pairs of jeans, in a smaller size!!! Booyah! I have not gained any weight since cleanse. I have been still eating smarter, cheats here and there, sorry it's holiday season but I'm not going to excess like I used to. I'm still being conscious and making healthier choices.
Thought y'all'd like to know that I didn't die.
Got that race coming up. I'm nervous/excited/scared/excited/terrified/excited etc..
Oh and I did get accepted into Normandale, I sent them my transcripts to waive some testing stuffs. I'm still waiting to hear about financial aide stuff too.
Monday, November 11, 2013
Getting back on the horse.
But then who said it was going to be easy?
Last week was not a good week for working out (hey at least I'm being honest), but the past is the past and this week is a new opportunity for me to kick some serious pahtooty. I'm going to start I believe NEXT week a new program with Tommy with the shakes I've beent aking and all that jazz. I'm excited. Those Isagenix shakes are not only easy for making in the morning or after work, but man.... are they tasty! Chicken is getting really boring again though... there's only so much I am able to do with a chicken breast that's still healthy and not either dry or completely devoid of flavor. Blah. But excited, waay excited for next week.
I worked out before work this morning, did a 20 minute run, and dear Hans Christian if you're reading this I RAN most of it, didn't go slower than 3mph for my walking intervals... Can I tell you how awake I feel right now? I do think getting an actual night's sleep has been helping witht hat exhausted tired feeling too... But I felt ready to tackle the day and get down to business.
My goal is to work out and do that run before work every day this work week. I nearly didn't get up and took that extra time for sleeping... But no. Pulled myself up by my boostraps (new boots this weekend so that phrase works) and I did it.
Shake in hand I conquered this morning. I've got too much to lose staying in bed and not committing. I just need help sometimes. And that's where I've had great support. I've been good at least in if I haven't been working out ( I KNOW BAD KIM BAD IM!!!!) I've not been diving off the deep end with the eating healthy portion.
All things are gonna come together though. I need to stick with this. New Year's is coming up and then it'll be the end of February in no time... It's also hard to want to go and work out I've found when you're doing it solo. And I don't wanna be paying to go work out at Lifetime all the time, once a weekend is fine but the gym here at work is free and free is just the right price for me, but it's hard to do it alone. (Yeah... I could whine some more but I'll spare you all
In other news aside from the fitness portion... I am applying to go back to school. If there's something I've been able to learn with the changes I'm implementing in my life is that it's too short to not do what's right for you. I am applying to go back to La Crosse for a second Bachelor's in Education so I'll be able to teach. It's what I have a passion for and I know that I will not be truly happy or satisfied with my life if I don't do this for me. So working on FAFSA and my application.. emaield the admissions department in La Crosse... It feels right. Scary and intimidating to think about but I know this is the right choice for me.
There ya go Syl. Good for you?
I WILL GET THIS MEDAL!!!!!!
Tuesday, October 22, 2013
Rise and Shine
Working out is great... but I am exhausted. Still sore from my weight session with a trainer at Lifetime. I am pretty proud of what I've been accomplishing. Sticking to working out, it's getting easier to actually get up and do it, but I am very much NOT a morning person, easier to not cheat with food, a treat or so here and there I am not going to beat myself over as long as I make sure I am getting the workout in to make up for it.
I took before pictures yesterday.. I can see a difference from how I was last beginning of 2012 January when I went to Disney with Sylwia to when I went to Disney with Simone and even to how I am now but I am not done yet.
I'm hungry for this. I can't accurately describe how bad I want that medal from my 10k. That is what I want and I know I can get it. I have so much potential and I'm only just tapping into it.
I will not go back to what I used to be.
I can only get better.
That's my only option.
Each day better than the one before.
Monday, October 21, 2013
I call do-over already
Didn't grab a shake this morning
Slept poorly
Just want this Monday to be over already and I haven't even started working yet.
Brightside? I am mad crazy sore but that good kind of "I killed it yesterday" sore.
What a start to a week right? I still got this. Tired and sore but I've got this.
Friday, October 18, 2013
Killing it.
I need to remember this. I get frustrated looking at the long-term and yes I know that the long term matters but what matters more is today. Right now. The immediate future. Am I making the best decisions? Am I doing what needs to be done to see results?
I woke up an hour earlier than I do for my overtime before work today and I came to work early and hit the gym. I did an hour on the elliptical, finished my book with 20 minutes left to go. I did it. I almost didn't do it. I reset my alarm when it went off... did it an hour later (my normal time to wake up for OT)... But I got up. I did lay there for a bit and in my head went through what I would gain getting up and going to work out and how much an extra 45 minutes or hour of sleep was really going to benefit me... chances are I probably wouldn't have been able to fall back asleep if I had chosen to stay in bed. So I worked out, and yes I feel so good but in all honesty? I'm still freaking tired... It's a good tired, but still.. I feel like I could use a nap today. Doesn't help that my sleeping still is out of whack...
Any suggestions for that? I've done work outs before bed, but still.. I'm up can't fall asleep.. I don't really want to go back on sleeping medication but that's always an option... Help? Brenda suggested trying Melatonin.. I'll look into that.
HAPPY FRIDAY!!!or as I call today GRIND-DAY!
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
Lets stop messing around
That's what I'm thinking about today. Have I been messing around? I haven't been exactly balls to the walls hardcore. I've been putting in definite effort. What is holding me back? Why am I not doing more? Shall we break down the psyche of Kim? I should really be having Miss Psychology Sylwia doing that.
I got a mesage last night from Tommy and that line just stuck out to me.
"Lets stop messing around"
I don't know why it's irking me.. Well maybe I do. I'm putting in some effort but I know it's not 100%. Things are making some progress but I'm not moving mountains here, I'm not shartering records, I'm not extraordinary.
What I am is trying. Some days more than others. Some days I am not putting in everything. I am trying to balance life and food and working out and somedays working out just loses the fight.
I don't consider myself a crazy athletic person. I've never been that person in my life. I don't get pumped to go to the gym and work out, albeit it's better now than previously, because I know the high from a good workout and the satisfaction I feel outweighs everything else.. but it's still a struggle.
I'm doing this alone. I work out alone. I cook these healthy meals alone, just for me. I'm fine with it. Maybe that's why I'm struggling. I know I have support from y'all who read this.. but honestly, sucky to not have the person to know they're in the same boat as you. or to have someone to pass the time with because boy can an hour drag on. Next week, after Tasha starts her new job she and I are getting week passes to lifetime and we are going to go work out for a week and swim and everything, so that'll be good. It's just hard doing it alone when you're not used to doing it at all.
So I'll work out tonight. I'll jam out to my ipod. Do an hour on the elliptical and suck it up because I'm better than the amount of effort I've been giving thus far.
Friday, October 11, 2013
Continuing On...
I just need some extra motivation and a pep talk today. I'm not feeling on the ball and really not feeling like working out. Ask me later though how I feel. I'm sure that'll change come 7pm.
Anyways... that's my post.
Sunday, October 6, 2013
I worked out after work Friday night. An hour on the elliptical. An hour after work on a Friday nigh.. Yes this is my life.... It's totally in my head that I don't get the same work out from an elliptical than I do when I would go running. It was hard. It at times felt like it was dragging on for FOREVER. But I survived. And best part? I'm doing it again this week... X4!!!
Anyways. I've got to be diligent on the working out front. I'm going to be tired... I'm not going to want o... but if I want to cross that finish line in February I need to be putting in all of me to these work outs. To quote Mister Tommy "The body follows the mind not the other way around. Be strong." I am listening for when my ankle is hurting but I can push myself and do better than I may think I can. I tend to get caught up in my head a lot more than I really should.
I'm seeing changes slowly but surely. I went to Ridgedale with mom and got to do some shopping.. I know I am not dropping lbs.. which I'm fine with.. but I can tell with my body and how I'm eating and how I'm working out that I am beginning to reap the benefits of these lifestyle changes. I tend to have more energy, I'm in a better mood... my weight although staying pretty even, has been shifting, I can tell parts of me are getting smaller? If that makes sense.. It's not like it'll be an overnight change and I waaaay understand and accept that. I'm happy with the progress that I have been making.
I really wanted to take a moment from updating on progress and truly show my gratitude for my friends and family that have been supporting me and keeping me on track with everything. A real big shout out to Sylwia. She not only puts up with my ridiculous snap chats from the elliptical but she has been crazy supportive and motivating. Like last week.. I was not doing a thing last week. I was off. Bad mood. Bad funk. Working out was not really happening and she texted me, Syl.. I'm totally sharing because I saved those messages and they're my motivation when I feel like quitting or feel like it's too hard.
"I was stalking your blog a little bit.. Keep going! the first days are always the hardest. I have tried so many times to run 'regularly' and 10-15 days in to it I always quit. You need to get over the hill and it's a breeze from there. Don't let all the hard work you put in the past few weeks go to waste! You got this and I'm so proud of you. Keep going because you're a great inspiration for me! I love you!"
That's really kind of become my mantra for this... trip I'm going on. "I got this." I find myself telling myself that time and time again. "This is not as hard as I'm making it out to be... You've got this in you." Also... Who could ask for a better sister than her? ("sister" for those who are all like "I didn't know you had a sister!" Three summers together at camp and you really are family) But I also wanted to thank my friends who comment on my blog, my statuses, or message me just to see how things are going when I've taken more than a few days between updates (Another nod to Sylwia "Blog Updates!!! Please!!!") Also.. if I snap chat you from the elliptical.. it is A. Because I love and/or appreciate and/or miss you and B. because if I don't I really may die from boredom. SO BORING. but maybe it'll start to grow on me... and/or C... I haven't gotten any audio books yet. I tried to read on the elliptical and that made my head hurt.. too much moving and it just was not a good mix.
Anyways....
I forgot how many days until my race.. but it's a 10k... that's a little over 6 miles... I've got 90 minutes to do it.. that's like a 15 minute mile... Doable.. I'm worried about being able to do 6 of them in a row though... but if me working out is any indication.... I was on the elliptical for an hour.. did 4 miles.. that's pretty much on track to what I will need to be able to run. And you have NO idea how bad I want to finish and get that medal. That'll be the cherry on top to this journey and life I'm choosing to go on and live.
Alright. Peace out people....
Yeah I might need some sleep....
Ugh. Monday. Here I come. Get ready. And thanks for making it through my ramblings.
Wednesday, October 2, 2013
Day # Frustrated... in the middle of week # Stuck.
I hate feeling like this. I don't want to work out. I don't care right now about what I'm eating (I have NOT flown off the handle and gone all crazy) but this week is definitely trying my determination.
I know that this change wont' happen overnight but I feel frustrated for not seeing better results at this point. I feel like I need to rebegin my 90 days. I was so into it day 1. I'm just coasting this week. Which is hard for me. I'm not sleeping well. I'm actually pretty grumpy... I don't like feeling like this. I need a kick in the rear to get me going again. I'm just dealing with a lot in my head. You'd think working out would be a great outlet for me to forget, at least temporarily... Not so much the case. At least it's not proving to be that way.
I had a discussion with Tommy about the elliptical. Right now the elliptical is like my arch nemesis. I hate it. I can't express this enough
I HATE THE ELLIPTICAL
I really do. I feel like I don't get the same result as when I get out and actually run. I can feel/see how far I have gone from where I began and just seeing a distance measured on a little screen doesn't give the same feeling to me.
Sorry guys I just don't feel on the ball this week. Maybe I need a new start. a new 100%. Ugh. I'm just beating myself up. I know I can do better than I am.. I just I don't know. It's so hard to explain.
p.s boys suck.
Thursday, September 26, 2013
Ok. Ugh.
Alright. Just met with Tommy. Crack down. 2 weeks, 4 days. No running. Elliptical. Two weeks to get begter with my legs before running more. I got this... I'm just stubborn.
Day 20.
I am not as confident right now in my ability to run a 10k.. but this has been an off week. I have gone out but my runs have been significantly shorter. It feels almost like my calf is like a jack in the box.. they get so tight like someone's been cranking it and tightening it but it won't loosen up.. I mean it will when I'm not walking or running.. but I can't just take all this time off. So I've been going out.. doing what I do.. but doing less. I know I still need to be active and get out there.. so yesterday I did a mile.. which wasn't too bad but I'm going slower because it is sore. I'm listening to the signs my body is giving me to not over do things, but at the same time I'm not going to fall back into a cycle of laziness.
Sorry.
Not for me anymore
I'm going to meet up with Tommy and see if he has any suggestions aside from what I'm already doing in regards to that.
Alright onto food! It's hard for me to get 100% with the "diet" although it's not a diet. Diet suggests temporary change, this lifestyle lets say. I know I should be eating much more protein than I am currently but taking the time to cook all that protein and really make meals for myself is proving to be a struggle, but last night I conquered one hurdle. I made a bunch of chicken breast, well seasoned and sauteed. Made servings of bown rice to go with it as well as vegetables. Guess what this girl's eating for lunch?
It's also just hard to find healthier recipes that are going to taste good and have actual flavor. How hard is that? ANNNDDDD without having to go out and get a whole new fridge of groceries because I don't have some weird spices or obscure vegetables. It's a work in progress. I'm thinking this weekend if I can make my week's food ahead of time I'll feel less put off to cook. It's just hard to work, come home, go for a run and then go hmm... food.. Welcome to adult life right?
I've also recently been getting more headaches. Headaches terrify me. Even though I've talked to my dr about them and they are not migraines, they are muscle band headaches that go from temple to temple around my forehead, I worry. For those of you readers of this blog that don't know... When I was a freshman in high school my mom had a brain aneurysm when we were on spring break in Florida. I worry about that... even with the consolation of my dr... still worry, especially when they seem to be more frequent... I think it may be related to allergies (ragweed ugh! thanks dad!) and I don't think I'm drinking enough water. There's only so much water that one can drink before you feel like you're just going to float away.. or run to the restroom every hour (hard to do in a call center...) I'm working on drinking more of it. It's just again hard. I have to keep doing it though. The gain is worth the intake. Maybe my headaches will become less and less.
so that's my update
goals for this weekend:
Get back up to running further, ideally get back up to 2.5 miles. Don't take a day off completely, if I need a break I will walk and still get the time in.
Drink much more water
Make my food for next week ahead of time so I don't stray and take the easy way out with meals.
plus shout out to Brenda for making me stay ontop of updating this. I was going to! I swear!!!
Sunday, September 22, 2013
Day 16?
I kept going. I did a fourth day of running. 60 minutes 2.6 miles. For real... how good do I feel? Pretty dang good. Thank you.
Friday, September 20, 2013
Day 14.
Okay let me break it down for you. I kick serious butt. So today was my third consecutive day going out and working out. It wasn't as hard as I thought it would be.. and I think I might have had my first "runner's high" I was told it will happen.. I don't even know how to describe it.. it was towards the end of my run.. I just felt like.. I don't know. My legs just knew what to do and I could push out that last quarter mile and boy did I.
I run out my emotions.. I don't break down for many people and I don't let a lot of people in because I don't feel like I want to be a burden and haven also found that most people just don't care about what I may be going through so why just go through the motions? I get really angry and run out my emotions. I think about the people in my life I care about, that truly mater, that have been supportive through everything... I run for them. Those SOB's that, at times I wish I could maybe run down with my car, or at least go back and erase their existence in my life... I run for them. Then there's me. I run for me. I run for the person I used to be, the person I am, the person I'll never be, and for the person I could be.
Lemme break down the past 3 days and what I've done.
Wednesday- 40 minutes and ran 2.25 miles.
Thursday- 45 minutes and ran 1.91 miles.
Friday (Today)- 50 minutes and ran 2.45 miles.
I realize that those times aren't really impressive.. but I'm super proud of those times! I had to retype these sentences a bunch of times... It was like I wanted to make excuses or try to justify to other people why those times mean a lot to me... I don't need people's validation to show that I'm doing a good job, although it certainly does help the ego every now and again. I am a work in progress and I feel like I'm progressing in the right direction...
Food is a small struggle still.. mainly because okay.. the amount of protein I should be eating is like.. okay a lot of meat. I'm not that big a meat and potatoes kinda gal.. I tend more towards a vegetarian lifestyle.. not that well cooked protein isn't fabulous.. but it takes time to make stuff taste good! and if you rush it you get the uneatable chicken breast I had on Monday... or tried to have on Monday... So that's something I'm still working on I'm hoping that this weekend I can get together my meals for the week and have one less thing to really worry about. But other than that... I've been doing much better.. eating healthier.. I need to drink more water for sure... but I'm conscious of the decisions I'm making and if I have something that maybe isn't the greatest (those newton cookies my mom had out.. okay not horrible and I had 1 serving) I'm not going to beat myself up over. It's more motivation to make sure that I go out and do the work that I need to for when I may not be on top of that portion of this lifestyle.
So sorry for the delay in the blog. There you go. and I hope you do stay tuned to see how this turns out. I'm excited about my life.. Dare I say maybe a bikini for Florida in Feb? Psshhh. I'm not gonna push that far but 6 miles looks a lot more obtainable after a week like this.
BOOYAH.
...and some pictures!!
![]() |
| my trail buddy tonight.. didn't jump away let me get super close (camp much???) |
![]() |
| panoramic view underneath the bridge I run over |
![]() |
| I wish the colors turned out better.. it was gorgeous purple and pink tonight after the rain... like a watercolor painting... |
![]() |
| signs that fall is coming.. the changing sumac |
![]() |
| ... bridge... |
![]() |
| Hello friend. We meet again... the beginning of my run every time. I'm becoming a creature of habit with my trail. |
Monday, September 16, 2013
Day 10.
Sunday, September 15, 2013
Day 9.
So I was happy being lazy today. I did grocery shopping and cooked but I know to make this work I have to push myself. I went to lifetime and hit the treadmill and elliptical. Another 40 minute work out. 30 minutes treadmill 1.5 miles and 10 on the elliptical over .5 miles.
I don't know about this ankle... I'm thinking about contacting my orthopedic surgeon because it's giving me so much trouble.
Thursday, September 12, 2013
Post work out
Alright. Blogger app I hate you. Okay so I hit the elliptical post work and wow. I feel great. Okay I didn't get the full 60 minutes
But 40 ain't too shabby. (Dont be mad Tommy.. are tou even reading this? Ia this thing on? C'mon comment people!)
Food is going well. It helps having an application to track everything including my steps/workouts. I feel like its caused a big look at life for me and how much I've been coasting, not paying attention to what I put in my body. I mean I'm realistic enough to know I won't be a size 0 but I wouldn't want to be either. I'm comfortable having some curves but a little less would be fab. I also just feel better having more fruits and vegetables. I don't feel oike my energy levels go so high up and so far down. I'm even keel. I'm still tired come morning but sleep schedule needs some help. Working out more should really help.
Okay. Its almost day 7. I haven't caved, broke down and felt like I've been missing anything. Sure rob's fries looked tasty and I'm sure they were. I'm not starving myself, when I feel hungry I eat, I'm just much more conscious of what I go to grab for for lunch, dinner and snacks.
This weekend? Grocery shopping. Sweet.






