Saturday, December 28, 2013

Back from Hiatus.

Okay.. So holy moly... where has the year gone? Not on these thighs!!!

Update: Working out has not happened as it should. No excuses. My own fault. Lets move on and not dwell on what I can't change.

What can I change?

This new year.

I have struck a deal (not really more forced than anything else) My mom and I are starting Jillian Michael's 30 day shred on Thursday. Hello new year. Every day. Circuit training, cardio/strength/abs. And I am going running before work for at least 30 minutes Monday through Friday... if after work at least an hour.

Well that's great Kim, but heard this before right?

Probably, but here's the deal. Every day I don't do stick to my plan, I'm donating 5$ to charity.  That's if I don't run any day Monday through Friday, before work or after, $5.00 dollars a day, don't stick with my mom to what day's we're doing our other workout? $5.00.

And if I stick to it, I'll probably donate money anyways. I haven't thought that part totally through.

In other news, went shopping at the Mall of America with Tasha today, got two new pairs of jeans, in a smaller size!!! Booyah! I have not gained any weight since cleanse. I have been still eating smarter, cheats here and there, sorry it's holiday season but I'm not going to excess like I used to. I'm still being conscious and making healthier choices.

Thought y'all'd like to know that I didn't die.

Got that race coming up. I'm nervous/excited/scared/excited/terrified/excited etc..


Oh and I did get accepted into Normandale, I sent them my transcripts to waive some testing stuffs. I'm still waiting to hear about financial aide stuff too. 

Monday, November 11, 2013

Getting back on the horse.

This stuff is hard.

But then who said it was going to be easy?

Last week was not a good week for working out (hey at least I'm being honest), but the past is the past and this week is a new opportunity for me to kick some serious pahtooty. I'm going to start I believe NEXT week a new program with Tommy with the shakes I've beent aking and all that jazz. I'm excited. Those Isagenix shakes are not only easy for making in the morning or after work, but man.... are they tasty! Chicken is getting really boring again though... there's only so much I am able to do with a chicken breast that's still healthy and not either dry or completely devoid of flavor. Blah. But excited, waay excited for next week.


I worked out before work this morning, did a 20 minute run, and dear Hans Christian if you're reading this I RAN most of it, didn't go slower than 3mph for my walking intervals... Can I tell you how awake I feel right now? I do think getting an actual night's sleep has been helping witht hat exhausted tired feeling too... But I felt ready to tackle the day and get down to business.

My goal is to work out and do that run before work every day this work week. I nearly didn't get up and took that extra time for sleeping... But no. Pulled myself up by my boostraps (new boots this weekend so that phrase works) and I did it.

Shake in hand I conquered this morning. I've got too much to lose staying in bed and not committing. I just need help sometimes. And that's where I've had great support. I've been good at least in if I haven't been working out ( I KNOW BAD KIM BAD IM!!!!) I've not been diving off the deep end with the eating healthy portion.

All things are gonna come together though. I need to stick with this. New Year's is coming up and then it'll be the end of February in no time... It's also hard to want to go and work out I've found when you're doing it solo. And I don't wanna be paying to go work out at Lifetime all the time, once a weekend is fine but the gym here at work is free and free is just the right price for me, but it's hard to do it alone. (Yeah... I could whine some more but I'll spare you all





In other news aside from the fitness portion... I am applying to go back to school. If there's something I've been able to learn with the changes I'm implementing in my life is that it's too short to not do what's right for you. I am applying to go back to La Crosse for a second Bachelor's in Education so I'll be able to teach. It's what I have a passion for and I know that I will not be truly happy or satisfied with my life if I don't do this for me. So working on FAFSA and my application.. emaield the admissions department in La Crosse... It feels right. Scary and intimidating to think about but I know this is the right choice for me.

There ya go Syl. Good for you?

I WILL GET THIS MEDAL!!!!!!

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Rise and Shine

Rise and Shine. Time to Grind.



Working out is great... but I am exhausted. Still sore from my weight session with a trainer at Lifetime. I am pretty proud of what I've been accomplishing. Sticking to working out, it's getting easier to actually get up and do it, but I am very much NOT a morning person, easier to not cheat with food, a treat or so here and there I am not going to beat myself over as long as I make sure I am getting the workout in to make up for it.


I took before pictures yesterday.. I can see a difference from how I was last beginning of 2012 January when I went to Disney with Sylwia to when I went to Disney with Simone and even to how I am now but I am not done yet.

I'm hungry for this. I can't accurately describe how bad I want that medal from my 10k. That is what I want and I know I can get it. I have so much potential and I'm only just tapping into it.

I will not go back to what I used to be.

I can only get better.

That's my only option.

Each day better than the one before.

Monday, October 21, 2013

I call do-over already

Woke up late

Didn't grab a shake this morning

Slept poorly

Just want this Monday to be over already and I haven't even started working yet.


Brightside? I am mad crazy sore but that good kind of "I killed it yesterday" sore.

What a start to a week right? I still got this. Tired and sore but I've got this.

Friday, October 18, 2013

Killing it.

Create a plan. Kill the plan. Repeat daily.

I need to remember this. I get frustrated looking at the long-term and yes I know that the long term matters but what matters more is today. Right now. The immediate future. Am I making the best decisions? Am I doing what needs to be done to see results?

I woke up an hour earlier than I do for my overtime before work today and I came to work early and hit the gym. I did an hour on the elliptical, finished my book with 20 minutes left to go. I did it. I almost didn't do it. I reset my alarm when it went off... did it an hour later (my normal time to wake up for OT)... But I got up. I did lay there for a bit and in my head went through what I would gain getting up and going to work out and how much an extra 45 minutes or hour of sleep was really going to benefit me... chances are I probably wouldn't have been able to fall back asleep if I had chosen to stay in bed. So I worked out, and yes I feel so good but in all honesty? I'm still freaking tired... It's a good tired, but still.. I feel like I could use a nap today. Doesn't help that my sleeping still is out of whack...


Any suggestions for that? I've done work outs before bed, but still.. I'm up can't fall asleep.. I don't really want to go back on sleeping medication but that's always an option... Help? Brenda suggested trying Melatonin.. I'll look into that.

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!or as I call today GRIND-DAY!

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Lets stop messing around

Lets stop messing around

That's what I'm thinking about today. Have I been messing around? I haven't been exactly balls to the walls hardcore. I've been putting in definite effort. What is holding me back? Why am I not doing more? Shall we break down the psyche of Kim? I should really be having Miss Psychology Sylwia doing that.


I got a mesage last night from Tommy and that line just stuck out to me.

"Lets stop messing around"

I don't know why it's irking me.. Well maybe I do. I'm putting in some effort but I know it's not 100%. Things are making some progress but I'm not moving mountains here, I'm not shartering records, I'm not extraordinary.

What I am is trying. Some days more than others. Some days I am not putting in everything. I am trying to balance life and food and working out and somedays working out just loses the fight.

I don't consider myself a crazy athletic person. I've never been that person in my life. I don't get pumped to go to the gym and work out, albeit it's better now than previously, because I know the high from a good workout and the satisfaction I feel outweighs everything else.. but it's still a struggle.

I'm doing this alone. I work out alone. I cook these healthy meals alone, just for me. I'm fine with it. Maybe that's why I'm struggling. I know I have support from y'all who read this.. but honestly, sucky to not have the person to know they're in the same boat as you. or to have someone to pass the time with because boy can an hour drag on. Next week, after Tasha starts her new job she and I are getting week passes to lifetime and we are going to go work out for a week and swim and everything, so that'll be good. It's just hard doing it alone when you're not used to doing it at all.

So I'll work out tonight. I'll jam out to my ipod. Do an hour on the elliptical and suck it up because I'm better than the amount of effort I've been giving thus far.

Friday, October 11, 2013

Continuing On...

It's days like today I need a serious pep talk. Today does not want to happen. I know I should work on being more positive but honestly I am tired. I think of the end of my shift today and I just want to go home and sleep. Will I feel better after working out? I know I will. Will it be a long greuling hour? Of course it will. Will I be bored out of my mind on the stupid elliptical? Yes. Duh. Will I do it? I guess because Tommy Becker's gonna beat me up if I don't. (Not really. He's probably one of the single nicest and most positive people I know. I do feel like I'd get a head shake and a stern talking to though.)

I just need some extra motivation and a pep talk today. I'm not feeling on the ball and really not feeling like working out. Ask me later though how I feel. I'm sure that'll change come 7pm.

Anyways... that's my post.