Alright. Just met with Tommy. Crack down. 2 weeks, 4 days. No running. Elliptical. Two weeks to get begter with my legs before running more. I got this... I'm just stubborn.
Thursday, September 26, 2013
Day 20.
I am not as confident right now in my ability to run a 10k.. but this has been an off week. I have gone out but my runs have been significantly shorter. It feels almost like my calf is like a jack in the box.. they get so tight like someone's been cranking it and tightening it but it won't loosen up.. I mean it will when I'm not walking or running.. but I can't just take all this time off. So I've been going out.. doing what I do.. but doing less. I know I still need to be active and get out there.. so yesterday I did a mile.. which wasn't too bad but I'm going slower because it is sore. I'm listening to the signs my body is giving me to not over do things, but at the same time I'm not going to fall back into a cycle of laziness.
Sorry.
Not for me anymore
I'm going to meet up with Tommy and see if he has any suggestions aside from what I'm already doing in regards to that.
Alright onto food! It's hard for me to get 100% with the "diet" although it's not a diet. Diet suggests temporary change, this lifestyle lets say. I know I should be eating much more protein than I am currently but taking the time to cook all that protein and really make meals for myself is proving to be a struggle, but last night I conquered one hurdle. I made a bunch of chicken breast, well seasoned and sauteed. Made servings of bown rice to go with it as well as vegetables. Guess what this girl's eating for lunch?
It's also just hard to find healthier recipes that are going to taste good and have actual flavor. How hard is that? ANNNDDDD without having to go out and get a whole new fridge of groceries because I don't have some weird spices or obscure vegetables. It's a work in progress. I'm thinking this weekend if I can make my week's food ahead of time I'll feel less put off to cook. It's just hard to work, come home, go for a run and then go hmm... food.. Welcome to adult life right?
I've also recently been getting more headaches. Headaches terrify me. Even though I've talked to my dr about them and they are not migraines, they are muscle band headaches that go from temple to temple around my forehead, I worry. For those of you readers of this blog that don't know... When I was a freshman in high school my mom had a brain aneurysm when we were on spring break in Florida. I worry about that... even with the consolation of my dr... still worry, especially when they seem to be more frequent... I think it may be related to allergies (ragweed ugh! thanks dad!) and I don't think I'm drinking enough water. There's only so much water that one can drink before you feel like you're just going to float away.. or run to the restroom every hour (hard to do in a call center...) I'm working on drinking more of it. It's just again hard. I have to keep doing it though. The gain is worth the intake. Maybe my headaches will become less and less.
so that's my update
goals for this weekend:
Get back up to running further, ideally get back up to 2.5 miles. Don't take a day off completely, if I need a break I will walk and still get the time in.
Drink much more water
Make my food for next week ahead of time so I don't stray and take the easy way out with meals.
plus shout out to Brenda for making me stay ontop of updating this. I was going to! I swear!!!
Sunday, September 22, 2013
Day 16?
I kept going. I did a fourth day of running. 60 minutes 2.6 miles. For real... how good do I feel? Pretty dang good. Thank you.
Friday, September 20, 2013
Day 14.
Okay let me break it down for you. I kick serious butt. So today was my third consecutive day going out and working out. It wasn't as hard as I thought it would be.. and I think I might have had my first "runner's high" I was told it will happen.. I don't even know how to describe it.. it was towards the end of my run.. I just felt like.. I don't know. My legs just knew what to do and I could push out that last quarter mile and boy did I.
I run out my emotions.. I don't break down for many people and I don't let a lot of people in because I don't feel like I want to be a burden and haven also found that most people just don't care about what I may be going through so why just go through the motions? I get really angry and run out my emotions. I think about the people in my life I care about, that truly mater, that have been supportive through everything... I run for them. Those SOB's that, at times I wish I could maybe run down with my car, or at least go back and erase their existence in my life... I run for them. Then there's me. I run for me. I run for the person I used to be, the person I am, the person I'll never be, and for the person I could be.
Lemme break down the past 3 days and what I've done.
Wednesday- 40 minutes and ran 2.25 miles.
Thursday- 45 minutes and ran 1.91 miles.
Friday (Today)- 50 minutes and ran 2.45 miles.
I realize that those times aren't really impressive.. but I'm super proud of those times! I had to retype these sentences a bunch of times... It was like I wanted to make excuses or try to justify to other people why those times mean a lot to me... I don't need people's validation to show that I'm doing a good job, although it certainly does help the ego every now and again. I am a work in progress and I feel like I'm progressing in the right direction...
Food is a small struggle still.. mainly because okay.. the amount of protein I should be eating is like.. okay a lot of meat. I'm not that big a meat and potatoes kinda gal.. I tend more towards a vegetarian lifestyle.. not that well cooked protein isn't fabulous.. but it takes time to make stuff taste good! and if you rush it you get the uneatable chicken breast I had on Monday... or tried to have on Monday... So that's something I'm still working on I'm hoping that this weekend I can get together my meals for the week and have one less thing to really worry about. But other than that... I've been doing much better.. eating healthier.. I need to drink more water for sure... but I'm conscious of the decisions I'm making and if I have something that maybe isn't the greatest (those newton cookies my mom had out.. okay not horrible and I had 1 serving) I'm not going to beat myself up over. It's more motivation to make sure that I go out and do the work that I need to for when I may not be on top of that portion of this lifestyle.
So sorry for the delay in the blog. There you go. and I hope you do stay tuned to see how this turns out. I'm excited about my life.. Dare I say maybe a bikini for Florida in Feb? Psshhh. I'm not gonna push that far but 6 miles looks a lot more obtainable after a week like this.
BOOYAH.
...and some pictures!!
![]() |
| my trail buddy tonight.. didn't jump away let me get super close (camp much???) |
![]() |
| panoramic view underneath the bridge I run over |
![]() |
| I wish the colors turned out better.. it was gorgeous purple and pink tonight after the rain... like a watercolor painting... |
![]() |
| signs that fall is coming.. the changing sumac |
![]() |
| ... bridge... |
![]() |
| Hello friend. We meet again... the beginning of my run every time. I'm becoming a creature of habit with my trail. |
Monday, September 16, 2013
Day 10.
Sunday, September 15, 2013
Day 9.
So I was happy being lazy today. I did grocery shopping and cooked but I know to make this work I have to push myself. I went to lifetime and hit the treadmill and elliptical. Another 40 minute work out. 30 minutes treadmill 1.5 miles and 10 on the elliptical over .5 miles.
I don't know about this ankle... I'm thinking about contacting my orthopedic surgeon because it's giving me so much trouble.
Thursday, September 12, 2013
Post work out
Alright. Blogger app I hate you. Okay so I hit the elliptical post work and wow. I feel great. Okay I didn't get the full 60 minutes
But 40 ain't too shabby. (Dont be mad Tommy.. are tou even reading this? Ia this thing on? C'mon comment people!)
Food is going well. It helps having an application to track everything including my steps/workouts. I feel like its caused a big look at life for me and how much I've been coasting, not paying attention to what I put in my body. I mean I'm realistic enough to know I won't be a size 0 but I wouldn't want to be either. I'm comfortable having some curves but a little less would be fab. I also just feel better having more fruits and vegetables. I don't feel oike my energy levels go so high up and so far down. I'm even keel. I'm still tired come morning but sleep schedule needs some help. Working out more should really help.
Okay. Its almost day 7. I haven't caved, broke down and felt like I've been missing anything. Sure rob's fries looked tasty and I'm sure they were. I'm not starving myself, when I feel hungry I eat, I'm just much more conscious of what I go to grab for for lunch, dinner and snacks.
This weekend? Grocery shopping. Sweet.





